Being certified in risk and information systems control (CRISC) means having the ability to identify and manage risks through developing, implementing, and maintaining information systems (IS) controls.

Developing IS controls just means designing measures to keep risks out of your network. Implementing them is the next step, which means rolling out the processes to avoid security events. Maintenance has to do with being consistent with your implementation. It also ensures updating measures when necessary (as threats evolve ideally).

Other interesting terms…

Read More about “Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)”

CRISC is a qualification IT professionals are awarded by the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA). ISACA is an international professional association that focuses on IT governance. It offers seven other certification programs apart from CRISC.

Why the Need for Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control Qualification?

Over time, the volume of threats seen worldwide continues to number in the billions. To put that into perspective, here’s a comparison of the number of malware-enabled attacks (there are others, of course) IT professionals have had to deal with in just the past five years.

need for CRISC certification - malware-enabled attack volume

These numbers are essentially the primary reason why most if not all IT professionals today need CRISC. To date, more than 30,000 IT professionals are CRISC holders. But what may be most interesting for practitioners to know is that adding CRISC to their portfolios can up their annual salary to an average of US$114,000, almost double what they would get if they don’t hold the certification.

Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control Examination Coverage

CRISC qualification has four components—governance, IT risk assessment, risk response and reporting, and IT and security, which we describe in more detail below.


Governance in the IT sphere simply means making IT systems and tools work efficiently and effectively to allow their users to meet business requirements and provide as much value as possible. It is often defined as the system by which organizations direct and control their current and future information and communication technology (ICT) use. It requires evaluating and creating plans to use ICT to achieve business goals. It also includes ICT usage strategies and policies.

IT Risk Assessment

IT risk assessment refers to identifying potential threats to and vulnerabilities in your systems. That way, you can determine what you stand to lose in case a specific event happens. It helps you achieve optimal security without spending too much.

Risk Response and Reporting

This component involves responding to threats that weren’t mitigated or kept out. It requires putting contingency plans in place and then a detailed report about what happened and how the team responded to prevent a threat’s spread. It may even include coming up with resolutions, so to speak, to avoid the same threats from getting through the net.

IT and Security

With this component comes the policies and strategies that IT pros need to implement to ensure utmost network protection. Practitioners need to prevent unauthorized access to corporate assets and maintain the integrity and confidentiality of sensitive information by blocking intruders.

Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control Qualification Prerequisites

Like pretty much all certifications, CRISC test-takers need to meet specific criteria, which are:

  • Pass the CRISC Exam within the last five years
  • Have relevant full-time work experience indicated in the exam content outline
  • Submit the CRISC Certification Application and pay the application processing fee

And like other certifications, you need to take the exam every five years to maintain your qualification. That could be because IT systems, tools, and the landscape itself constantly changes.

Several organizations offer CRISC training and review services for IT professionals who wish to take the exam and obtain certification. You can find more information on the requirements, application process, and exam itself on the ISACA website (